Vietnam: In Their Own Words

November 11, 2005
Vietnam: In Their Own Words
Story Telling at the Vietnam Women’s Memorial
Firday, November 11, 2005
click this
icon to view text of presentation

9:00 a.m.
Dr. Patricia Hinton Walker
Dean, The Graduate School of Nursing
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Presentation of the 10th Anniversary Coin
MAJ. Laura Newkirk, LCDR Christopher
Smith, CPT Brad Franklin, Capt. Sadie Kaprielian, LT
Jerrol Wallace,
Ms. Martha Kearns – Operation Iraqi Freedom
10:30 a.m.
Colonel Constance Moore, U.S. Army
Commandant, Graduate School of Nursing
11:00 a.m.
Dr. Elspeth Ritchie
Psychiatric Consultant to the Army Surgeon General
11:20 a.m.
Emily Strange, American Red Cross – Vietnam 1968-1969
11:40 a.m.
Steven Moore, U.S. Army – Vietnam 1967-1968
12:00-2:00 p.m..
Ceremony at The Wall
2:00 p.m..
Colonel Lenore Enzel, U.S. Army
Deputy Commander, Patient Services and Nursing
William Beaumont Army Medical Center
(Board Member, Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation)
2:30 p.m..
Ed Henry, U.S. Navy — Vietnam 1965-1966.
3:00 p.m..
Sheri Bowen, Founder, Roses for Vets
3:00 p.m..
Major Sheldon Smith, U.S. Army
3:30 p.m..
Marsha Guenzler-Stevens, Lessons Learned
in Ten Years of Story Telling
Vice President, Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation
In Their Own Words, Story Telling at the Vietnam Women’s
is an educational program presented by the Vietnam
Women’s Memorial Foundation.
The Vietnam Women’s Memorial Foundation is a non-profit
organization dedicated to honoring women who served during the
Vietnam era. For additional information on the Memorial or its
projects including other educational programs, Sister Search,
publications, products, or research on women who served during
the Vietnam era, you are invited to visit the Foundation’s
Web site at
If you would like to participate in upcoming Storytelling events,
please contact Dr. Marsha A. Guenzler-Stevens, Chair of the
Education Committee, Vietnam Women’s Memorial Project Board
of Directors, at 301-314-8505 or via e-mail at
You may also contact the Project’s Board of Director Founder
and President, Ms. Diane Carlson Evans via e-mail at